NIMA lineup revealed

A star-studded lineup of Australian talent has been revealed for this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards. Taking place at Darwin’s historic amphitheatre on 12 August will be A.B. Original, Dan Sultan, Paul Kelly and Gawurra as well as Emily Wurramara, Apakatjah, Leah Flanagan, Numbulwar Red Flag Dancers and Electric Fields.

Indigenous music has become more and more accessible over recent years and 2016 was no exception. A.B. Original won the Australian Music Prize and both Busby Marou and Jessica Mauboy claimed #1 ARIA chart positions.

Troy Cassar-Daley took out Album of the Year at the Tamworth Golden Guitars, Isaiah Firebrace represented Australia at Eurovision and Casey Donovan returned to national prominence via mainstream television.

NIMA has also again partnered with triple j Unearthed to discover the next generation of Indigenous talent, giving one lucky artist the chance to perform at the awards, with all Indigenous artists who upload new songs to the Unearthed platform by 2 July eligible for the prize.

The NIMAs show, now in its 14th year celebrates the mainstream success of Indigenous music and shines a spotlight on the next generation of Indigenous stars.

_ _ _

National Indigenous Music Awards takes place in Darwin on 12 August. More at

Be first to comment