Australian Women in Music Awards now open for 2019 nominations

Australian Women in Music Awards

The team behind the Australian Women in Music Awards have announced new categories as they open nominations for their second year.

The event returns 8 – 9 October, shining a light on the incredible accomplishments of women across the Australian music industry.

Three new categories: classical music, music journalism and image making will be added to the already long list of other categories.

Last year’s event saw Australia’s most talented and committed women descend on the Brisbane Powerhouse for the inaugural Awards ceremony, with artists including Amy Shark, Jen Cloher and NGAIIRE all taking home awards, while performances from Kate Ceberano, Emily Wurramara, Katie Noonan, Adalita and Do Re Mi ensured that the awards launched in style.


This year Producers, Engineers, Film Makers, Photographers, Songwriters, Industry Leaders, Artist Managers and more are set to be acknowledged and celebrated in their own right alongside the talented artists who keep the industry ticking.

Nominations are open now with the event taking place once again at the Brisbane Powerhouse. As well as the awards ceremony, the program of events includes music industry forums, a keynote speaker and concert.


Australian Women in Music Awards 2019 categories

The following categories are on offer in 2019 with nominations closing 25 July


Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to a female artist or musician who has made an outstanding artistic contribution to the field of recording and/or live performance during her lifetime.


Humanitarian Award

Recognises an individual (female, male and GNC) who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education, and/or assisting female artists working in remote and/or regional communities.


Diversity in Music Award

Recognises individual artists or female-driven musical collaborations for their contribution to advancing a culturally diverse and inclusive music industry.


Studio Production Award

Recognises a female sound engineer or producer who has made contributions of outstanding significance in the studio recording environment.


Live Production Award

Recognises a female working in a live production or touring environment making significant impact in her field: Includes Tour Management, Live Sound, Lighting, Backstage and Roadcrew.

Music Leadership Award

Recognises a female Industry Leader, Managing Director, Label Manager, A&R Director, Artist Manager or Publisher making significant impact in music industry leadership.


Songwriter Award

Recognises an outstanding female songwriter or composer.


Emerging Artist Award

Acknowledges an outstanding emerging female artist.


Music Photographer Award

Recognises a female music photographer currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.


Film-maker Award

Recognises a female music videographer, clip-maker, film-maker, or music animator currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.


Artistic Excellence Award

Recognises exceptional creative achievement from a female artist/musician across any genre.


Excellence in Classical Music Award*

Recognises a mid-to-late career female classical music artist (including conductors and artists working in the field of opera) who has demonstrated musical excellence throughout her career.


Music Journalist Award

Recognises a female music journalist, blogger or editor who has made a creative contribution and courageous impact in truth telling and innovative reporting in the Australian Music Industry.


Excellence in Image Making Award

Recognises a female hair and/or makeup artist and/or stylist (including those working in costume / wardrobe) working to change the face of music visually to break down gender, race and social cultural stereo types.


Creative Leadership Award

A curatorial award recognising excellence in creative programming from women working in broadcast media, a music festival or live performance/venue to champion female artists.


Be first to comment